Kaiju anime reveals monster designs


Key visual for the upcoming KJ File anime.
Key visual for the upcoming KJ File anime. Photo credit: @tv-tokyo.co.jp/anime/kjfile

TV Tokyo has announced a short TV anime titled KJ File, which is about kaiju monsters. On their official website, they revealed the main staff, cast, ED (Ending) theme song and a key visual. The Kaiju anime is slated to premiere on TV Tokyo this summer in July 2022.

Artists known for their passion for kaiju monsters will create the original kaiju designs, and the illustrations will reportedly be drawn in “Reiwa-era retro style.” A new theme song will herald the appearance of a brand new kaiju in the episodes.

From bloody war to peaceful coexistence

The story begins with a meteorite impact in the Far East of the Eurasian continent in the early 20th centuryth Century and causes a massive explosion that changes the earth’s crust so drastically that huge monsters (Kaiju) awaken in the ancient layers.

Kaiju design.
Kaiju design. Photo credit: KJ File Production Committee

The Kaiju emerged from below and began attacking humanity and destroying their civilization. The League of Nations was formed to combat this threat and began to figure out a way to kill the Kaiju. However, the League of Nations underestimated the power of the Kaijus and their forces were defeated.

Kaiju design.
Kaiju design. Credit: KJ File Production Committee.

With humanity teetering on the brink of extinction, the tide of war turned with the Kaiju in the mid-20th centuryth Century. A brilliant scientist, Dr. Shiro Mikoshiba, invented an ultrasonic monster control device (known as the Rat Fenger) that had the ability to control the Kaiju.

Kaiju design.
Kaiju design. Credit: KJ File Production Committee.

Mankind no longer had to fight the kaiju and began to find a way to peacefully coexist with the kaiju. It was decided to dissolve the League of Nations and to be replaced by a new organization – the United Nations Monster Watchers.

This new organization was founded by Dr. Shiro Mikoshiba and divided into 6 Kaiju Research Departments: Ecology, Life Sciences, Disaster Prevention Studies, Linguistics, Functional Analysis, and Anti-Kaiju Strategy.

Kaiju design.
Kaiju design. Credit: KJ File Production Committee.

The top management of each research department holds regular debriefings where they discuss the analysis and new discoveries of the kaiju that are currently being monitored. The Monster Watchers are a team of the best scientific minds searching for the best ways to live peacefully with the Kaiju by monitoring and analyzing them around the world.

Kaiju design.
Kaiju design. Photo credit: KJ File Production Committee

Talented voice actors and a punk band join the crew

The cast of the anime has some household names:

  • Guillermo Marquez: Kiyoshi Kobayashi (Lupin III)
  • Motomu Kiyokawa (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
  • Issei Futamata (Maison Ikkoku)
  • Kouji Imai
  • Masayuki Ooshita
  • Kaori Fukumori (Mushishi Zoku Shou)
  • Nene Naninu (GEMS COMPANY)

The staff consists of very talented people:

  • Director: Akira Funada (Yami Shibai 9)
  • Screenwriter: Mitsuhiro Sasaki (Yami Shibai 6), Takashi Iisuka (Director of Sekai no Yami Zukan)
  • Animators: Shinji Nishikawa (Kurayami Santa Episode Director), Hideo Okamoto (SSSS.Dynazenon Creature Design), Yuu Ebihara, Takashi Iitsuka, Michiko Furutani, Jimmy (Overflow), Tomoko Wada, Norio Yamakawa (Ninja Collection Planning),
  • Song composition: Tomoki Kikuya (Yuragi sou no Yuuna-san)
  • Singers: Aozora Sorano (ARCANA PROJECT, Dempagumi.inc) Kana Hoshizaki, Nobuhiko Kashiwara (Shinryaku! Ika Musume), Kouta Okamoto
  • Planning: Norio Yamakawa (TV Tokyo), Takuya Iwasaki (ILCA) (Kowabon)
  • Producer: Satoshi Umetsu (TV Toky) (Ahiru no Sora), Akira Funada (yell)
  • Production collaboration: Studio Buckhorn, Wafuu Animation
  • Studio: ILCA Scream

Punk band Kazuki Yamamori will perform the ending theme song music titled Kaijuu Fire. You can listen to one of the band’s great songs here:

Song by the punk band Kazuki Yamamori.

Visit the band’s official website here.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here